Hopeless

matt 22

36“Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” 37Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[b] 38This is the first and greatest commandment.

What does it mean to love with your soul? Do I have any idea of how to do that?

It’s a commandment… so I’m going to assume he wouldn’t tell me to do something unless its something that I can actually do… that I actually have some control over it. But how can I make my very essence love?

But moving to the other parts… do I love him with all my mind? Ouch. That one is a battle for me sometimes. My mind likes to flip back to logic… and forget that human logic can’t begin to understand god logic.

And my heart? Um… I’m not sure I wanna discuss my heart. It’s fickle. Emotions throw me for a loop sometimes… the heart is way too easily bribed away.

Strength? I thought it was included… but maybe that’s from another account in one of the other gospels. But I do pretty poorly there as well. I’m lazy when it comes to all the things I should be doing… let alone all the things I could be doing.

Grace… gotta love it. Cuz without it, we’re hopeless. Even at the seemingly basic tasks.

Leave a Reply

