Making the call

So Boo now officially has a new doctor.

Those were a really rough set of phone calls to make.

I probably wouldn’t have just yet… but unfortunately, the three of her meds that I don’t have surplus sitting around of, happen to come due for their refills to be renewed this month… the ADHD med being this week.

Since her doc was in a practice by himself, there’s not a backup to sign off on his prescription renewals… so like it or not… the new doc game is on.

Which I’ve dreaded. Because I’ve tended to have horrible luck with the doctors that I’ve seen… and not a lot of the doctors that accept her insurance take new patients… and the ones that do tend to be either super young and inexperienced, or affiliated with the crummy quality clinic style places in town like her first doc experience.

So I called the office of her current doc…. not really knowing what I was going to hear, as his wife was frequently the one who answered the office phones.

Even this was enough to get me onto the emotional side… realizing this would probably be the last time I’ll ever use that number in my contacts, that’s been used so much before.

I ended up talking to one of his former nurses that hasn’t worked for him in about 4 years, but who was frequently the one taking vitals and such back when she did, and had always known Boo by name.

As cheesy as it sort of sounds, I thought I was going to start to cry.

She told me the office will be open for 3 or 4 more weeks, then who will have the records from there…. and was able to give me the names of two places that took her insurance that had agreed to take on his patients.

One was a clinic style place… that I can only imagine was picked because it’s less than a half mile from his office… so it would appeal to those who picked him as their doc only because it was close to where they lived.

The other… I just got a last name and street…. and it’s all the way on the opposite side of town.

I hit google… and like what I see. First, they surprised me by being female.. but they have more than 20 years of experience in pediatrics, good ratings on the sites that have the little survey things… and also graduated from a university in Europe.

So.. while she never would have been on my radar otherwise due to the half hour or so drive I’m estimating to get over there… from the looks of it, I’m thinking this one was probably chosen more for similarity where the clinic was chosen from location.

So for now, that’s where we are going to start.

Appointment is set for first thing in the morning on the day of the funeral… so Boo doesn’t miss more school…. but as emotional as this has been setting me off for some reason, we’ll see how good of a plan that was.

The call to change her to being the primary doc on Boo’s insurance went surprisingly smooth… especially compared to my other dealings with them.

But I found myself nearing tears again at the end of the call when the person informed me that her new card with the updated information would be mailed out.

I don’t want a new card… I found myself immediately thinking that I’ll just keep the old card and use it because all they need is the numbers anyway…. even though I realize that the card is pretty trivial.

I don’t know precisely why this is making me quite so emotional… but it is. Maybe just because of the way he died…. maybe it’d have been less of a thing had he died peacefully in his sleep… or even of natural causes while jogging.

One thing that has made me feel a bit better about it though was a news article… that just happened to mention that his wife had tried to call him around midnight and got no answer.

So, he had his cell phone with him. Duh… he’s a doctor who answers after hours calls himself, of course he did.

But at least that means that he probably didn’t lie there conscious but in agony for hours between 10:30 and 2:30. Because had that been the case, had he been the one to pull himself to the ditch and not been hit hard enough to have been thrown there… then he likely would have been able to have called for help himself.

Maybe, maybe not… but that’s my bubble and I’m staying in it.

So I guess I feel a bit better after the funeral.

Although, I’m not entirely sure that we should have gone. As much as it was mentioned that his patients and work were a major part of his life, the service was very much geared more towards personal friends and family. Picture montages and such had absolutely no pics on him at work, stories were all non-doctor related, etc.

So I wasn’t really sure if they were all that thrilled about patients there… but ah well.

Boo’s new doc seemed to be ok… nothing too much really either way at this point, but it was a short visit. It remains to be seen what happens in the long run… but nothing to scare me off from her just yet.

So I suppose life moves on for the rest of us.

So I guess I feel a bit better after the funeral.

Although, I’m not entirely sure that we should have gone. As much as it was mentioned that his patients and work were a major part of his life, the service was very much geared more towards personal friends and family. Picture montages and such had absolutely no pics on him at work, stories were all non-doctor related, etc.

So I wasn’t really sure if they were all that thrilled about patients there… but ah well.

Boo’s new doc seemed to be ok… nothing too much really either way at this point, but it was a short visit. It remains to be seen what happens in the long run… but nothing to scare me off from her just yet.

So I suppose life moves on for the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

