Loans and issues

So I guess I haven’t really gone into what happened with the school loans and why the craziness.

So, way back when I first applied to the program, I’d done the first financial aid app before I’d been accepted into the program… because it was due before that point. So they’d made up my offer letter based on general student schedules.

So, when they made the one for this year… the one that I signed and accepted…. the one that had the numbers on it that I was looking at for feasibility, they basically just updated that one for the new year’s numbers.

Nobody (including me, because I should have) caught that because I’m in this program, my schedule isn’t just the general fall and spring schedule…. because we have classes that are required to be taken in both summers.

So, the numbers should have reflected the extra semester. But they didn’t.

And there is a max cap of student loans that you can take out per year… and I was at the max in those numbers.

And so, they had to correct things… which didn’t actually even get done until I’d already started summer classes and was late on getting all of my books and such.

So the amount of loans that would have covered 2 semesters with about $1,000 each semester to cover books and help supplement on other expenses…. ends up not quite covering three.

Summer was covered, but for both fall and spring I’ll owe about $300 on each, plus be on my own for covering books and all of my other bills.

And of course I only find this out after I’ve already started classes… and with basically two months to come up with the money for majorly expensive books for fall, and three months to come up with the first $300 tuition payment.

Or, I can do a payment plan that spreads the $600 over 12 months… but that has a $140 fee. 😦

—-

So that’s where the financial chaos is coming from right now.

I’m working with the books… but unfortunately, the program usually mostly the same books all the way through, so the first semester has big expenses on big books instead of each semester having more smaller ones.

And unlike a lot of colleges, the school library doesn’t keep a set of books in the reference section to use in the library only.

Plus my math book is brand new this year, so there’s not a used book market on it.

But, on the math, there are rental services that will rent it to me for $60 for the semester. Or $40 for 30 days… which I’m actually considering doing, and then making copies of the pages with the problems for the sections that the syllabus will say that we will be covering.

Rental services don’t make as much sense for the other books… where I will be needing them for multiple semesters, though it might with the workbooks… which I’m still waiting to find out if I really have to have, or whether they are just to help the student but not for credit.

So I’m trying to figure out on those if I can get by with using an older edition of the books. For example, one is $180 for the 2010 edition, but the 2005 edition is only $40. With 5 years apart, there will obviously be some differences in the editions from changes in technology…. but is the hit to my grade from not having read the new additional parts going to be worth the extra $140? I’m thinking probably not.

With the rental and the old editions…. I can get my books down under $200…. for a total needed soon of $500.

Which sounds a big less intimidating than $600 in books and having to come up with $900…. but only marginally.

From my budget right now… $500 is still pretty darn crazy to try and pull out of thin air in two months while still keeping critical things like water and electricity on.

Do I really need the extra $40 a month for gas that’s only used for hot water heater, and so basically only used for showers right now? It’s summer… maybe the cold will feel good. lol

Leave a Reply

