Context or new perspective

So it’s that time of year again… new bible reading plan hunting time! lol!

So when we last recapped, I was behind enough that I was ending last April.

So where this puts me now is about 2/3 of the way through a plan that I’m not real gung ho about, and not sure if I want to keep.

The plan that I’ve been using has been the one based on the tyndale one year bible, that has a section each from OT, NT, psalms and proverbs… because I had the one year bible in real life book form originally.

I’ve since decided that I don’t really like the book form, for about three main reasons.

  1. It’s set by dates, so when you get off track, it’s hard to keep where you are.
  2. It’s far less portable on the go than a youversion plan that I can read from my phone or the web
  3. It’s pretty useless as a bible for any other circumstances. Because it’s in order for the readings… it’s majorly hard to find anything, or read along with anything that might be split between days.. and I’d really rather have my highlights and such made during daily reading in the same bible/app that I’d be using for any other reading.

As far as the plan itself, I have three more main things that sometimes get to me.

  1. I don’t like the short half chapters of psalms and 2 or 3 verses of proverbs being so short and tagged on at the end… because it seems like it gives them less attention and the short end of the stick. But the time I hit them, I’ve changed sections twice, and regrouping
  2. I don’t like that it sometimes seems out of context and divided in the middle of a story. I find myself clicking back to previous days to remember where we were, or just reading ahead for several days of just the OT or NT part to finish the story, then coming back the next days and just reading the remaining sections.

So my first thought for this year has been to actually start two plans… one that just covers OT including psalms and proverbs in their normal course of things, and one that just covers NT.

The point of this would we that I could go back and forth… read several days worth of one till it got to a logical place, then flip to the other one, and back and forth.

But the more I thought about this, the more I realized that basically, this is just the virtual version of putting two bookmarks in a hard copy bible and reading along. Which means it probably runs into the same issues that I have with that strategy… namely, that it still requires my motivation and organization. I’m probably pretty likely to skip lots more days entirely without following the daily set sections, and then make up for it with reading through a ton too rapidly and missing the depth… and will probably get stuck somewhere about 1/3 to 1/2 way through the OT one and lack the motivation to push through the less interesting parts when I have nothing to keep me on pace with it.

I’m always amazed when I scan through the different plans availible on youversion of how many there are, and how different.

I don’t even want to try the ones that cram into 90 days right now. Way too crazy with my life.

Nor do I want ones that loop back through the gospels 4 times during the year, or the one that includes 12 different times of reading proverbs.

Nor do I really want commentary to have more to read. I’m fine with seeking out commentary on my own just on parts that catch my attention.

I’ve basically come down to a few that I’m still considering at the moment and trying to decide my gameplan.

One is a pretty basic plan… it has one reading a day each from OT and NT. The catch is, it puts the books in what seems to be a random order. It starts with Genesis and Romans. Another example it gives is that while you are in Isiah, you are also in Mark. Which, granted, will make some sections of the OT a bit better by splitting some of the similar spells apart maybe instead of being back to back… and maybe give a bit more focus onto the gospels by not having them read right after each other. Mix things up a bit.

Option 2 is more similar to the tyndale version. It does fix the psalms and proverbs issue by removing those daily sections, and replacing them with one daily “wisdom book” reading that covers those books and others. It also splits the NT reading into two daily sections, one that goes through just the gospels, and the other section covering the rest… so that the gospels as spread throughout, instead of being over by about march. The other OT section is pretty normal.

Option 3 is actually a variation of the two plans used as one idea mentioned earlier…. but they both have slight twists. The OT plan splits the daily OT readings into three sections… one each from the historical books, the poetry, and the prophetic books… so no more getting stuck in pure history seemingly forever.
The NT plan I’m looking at to go with it has the books rearranged by who the author was… which actually sounds pretty cool to me. Seems like it would make for an interesting flow to keep with the similar voice.

Another option just seriously made me laugh the first time I opened it. It’s a plan that goes by reading 10 chapters a day, regardless of length of those chapters… but there’s another twist.
You aren’t reading Genesis 1-10 on day one. Oh no.
You are reading Genesis 1, Matthew 1, Romans 1, 1 Thes 1, Job 1, Psalms 1, Proverbs 1, Joshua 1, Isaiah 1, and Acts 1.
Day 2 is chapter 2 of all of those same books. Etc Etc.
Remember how I said that I was flipping back to try and reconnect with context from previous days? Yeah, this plan would have absolutely none of that! lol!
The reason it sort of tempts me to try it is that I’m sort of drawn by that same separated nature. With reading from 10 different books in 1 day, they are going to be split apart from their context… and that may actually be a good thing in breaking out of the predictability. I mean, eventually, you kind of get to where sometimes you know what’s happening next, and so you stop really paying as much attention to it. Forcing each chapter out on its own might help it be able to take the spotlight more for what is there, not just where it fits in the big picture.
But I’m sort of thinking it really might drive me bonkers long before the end. (it’s actually only 8 months… so would give leeway for missed days.)

Now just to hurry up and decide… if I’m wanting to start on Jan 1 I need to pick tomorrow. lol

Leave a Reply

