For entertainment’s sake

Way back when… I played farmville. (And a few others)

Not fanatically per se, but a lot.

It was something that kept me busy during the spell of unemployment and kept me waking up knowing that certain things needed done at certain times. Even if it was just harvesting virtual pineapples.

Way way way back when, I played the sims. The first version, on the computer. Again, not fanatically, but a lot.

And way way way back… I played simcity on the super nintendo. Wow… that was a long time ago. lol

This came up to my therapist recently. And I sort of expected a lesson to come of it about wasting life on things that weren’t productive returns on my energy.

But, it didn’t.

Actually… I’m on a one week goal to find a new game to get into.

Instead of the anticipated lecture about wasted effort… instead it was given value as something that brought enjoyment, provided distraction, and kept focus off of depression during the bitter job hunt.

It brought me entertainment, and made me feel a bit better.

Somehow… I never really stopped to think about it under that sort of a framework.

To me, especially with farmville, it was more something to be hidden… something worthless and annoying to others…. something that I knew better than to be wasting my time on.

Somehow video games and games in general don’t seem worth the spent effort… but, they do actually have a positive effect sometimes.

I don’t think I really want to get back into anything so closely tied to the clock like farmville. And I don’t really want to be waiting for things to evolve or grow like the sims stuff. And I’m not a big fan of the candy crush type of games that many of my facebook friends seem to be really into.

But I’m looking.

And it feels so different to not be feeling like it’s a waste…. but to be openly seeking the entertainment and distraction value.

My house projects and crochet projects are nice…. but sometimes… the effort just doesn’t feel there much. Reading is good, but sometimes my mind just isn’t with it enough to really be absorbing.

Maybe it’s not as bad as it seems like it should be to not be doing something that is productive. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

